In Pursuit of Morning

by Matt Forker

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    ON SALE TODAY ONLY Small batch CDs in 6 panel gatefold case with artwork by Calliope Pina Parker, design by Josh Kwassman and photographs by Caroline Wallis.

    Includes unlimited streaming of In Pursuit of Morning via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $10 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Red Willow 09:35
Coiled Smoke 05:14


Peel back layers of still viscous paint caked over pupils; scrub senses clean of lingering
Bruised shoulder again meets wheel and ekes out a millimeter of movement.
Pour in your twenty-two gallon bucket of life until, overflowing with unarguable placehood, you build a shrine over this sound-world; sear the door with a porcelain sunrise: shattered and aspiring.

I made you tea, but by the time you read this the dried leaves will have steeped so long they’ll leave a bitterness in your mouth
jitterbug hands
plowing furrows along nailbeds and between brows as though sowing some vital crop.

Something smells like it’s burning.
“We must create at the same scale as we can destroy” (cast in neon shadow, itself destructive)
Creation is small resistance. Art cannot heal the world, only mark time: a heat-shimmer of ‘there’ flickering above ‘here’
affords something more than a mirage to polish dusty throats.


released March 13, 2020

Fung Chern Hwei violin
Josh Davidoff clarinet
David Acevedo trumpet
Abdulrahman Amer trombone
Matt Forker guitar
Lisa Hoppe bass
Jonah Wolfson drums
Tyshawn Sorey drums, glockenspiel

Recorded July 13th, 2019 by Greg DiCrosta at Firehouse 12
Produced by Matt Forker and Noah Baerman
Mixed by Matt Forker and Liberty Ellman
Mastered by Liberty Ellman
Painting by Calliope Pina Parker
Album Design by Josh Kwassman

Special thank you to: Noah Baerman, Neely Bruce, Eamon Callahan, Becket Cerny, Matt Chilton, J.P.A. Falzone, Tim Forker, Roger Matthew Grant, Jay Hoggard, Tony Lombardozzi, Ryan Maeglin, Julie Reiss, Johanna Reiss, and Tyshawn Sorey.

All compositions by Matt Forker


all rights reserved



Matt Forker New York

Matt Forker’s music draws on the legacy of the AACM as well as from the contemporary innovations of western classical music and modern jazz to create a chamber music where composition and improvisation coexist. An alumni of Wesleyan University and the Banff Centre's IWJCM, Matt is playing, writing and teaching in Brooklyn, New York ... more

contact / help

Contact Matt Forker

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Matt Forker, you may also like: